A day at Heart Mountain Interpretive Center

 

View of the Heart Mountain Interpretive Center.

View of the Heart Mountain Interpretive Center. (Courtesy Photo)

Half-way between the sparse 30 mile stretch of Wyoming Veterans Memorial Highway (Highway 14A) that takes travelers to and from the small towns of Cody and Powell, a turn north onto Road 19 leads back in time. Visible from the highway, the Heart Mountain Interpretive Center brings to life through photographs, artifacts, and oral histories the experience of the Japanese and Japanese American people who during WWII were interned under the shadow of the looming and singular Heart Mountain. While I’ve gone to the Center many times, on June 3, a need to get out of the house combined with cloudy skies and chances of lightening, sent me again to the Center looking for a quiet moment.

I was lucky/smart enough to plan my visit on the day former internee and 2014 Advisor in Residence Eva Nakamura Kuwata was speaking. A native of California and only child of two parents with Japanese ancestry, she was interned in the relocation camp during her early childhood and says “because I was so young, it was kind of an adventure to be here. … For me, it was just part of my life.” Kuwata went on to recount memories of her first time seeing snow in Wyoming, of making friends in camp and joining Brownies, and of both kind people and discrimination she encountered in neighboring communities. When the war ended, Kuwata said her family returned to California, “but we had nothing really to go back to.”

2014 Heart Mountain Interpretive Center Advisor in Residence sits in front of the memorial garden with a view of Heart Mountain in the distance. Photo by Heidi Hansen

2014 Heart Mountain Interpretive Center Advisor in Residence Eva Kuwata sits in front of the memorial garden with a view of Heart Mountain in the distance. (photos by Heidi Hansen)

“There is a Japanese saying, ‘Shikata Ga Nai,’ this means ‘can’t be helped.’ That is what my parents told me,” Kuwata said. “And I was an only child. No one told me I should ask more questions. My parents took it in stride that we had to go. There was no bitterness. Well, they might have been bitter, but they didn’t show it to me.”

Later, I asked Kuwata why she wanted to come back to Heart Mountain and tell her story of internment. Her answer was simple: “A lady I worked with had never heard of the camps, she didn’t know this had happened. Then when I told her I had been in the camps, she was telling everyone: ‘Eva was in those camps.’” Today, Kuwata is a retired grandmother of two and cancer survivor who regularly attends Japanese folk dancing classes. She characterized returning to Heart Mountain as a “wonderful experience.”

For those present at the Heart Mountain Interpretive Center that day, Kuwata’s memories of camp life provided a unique narrative lens into one of our country’s darker historical periods. However, a visit to the Center on any day will discover a rich and detailed multi-narrative approach to storytelling.

A display inside the Heart Mountain Interpretive Center tells the story of a family interned during WWII.

A display inside the Heart Mountain Interpretive Center tells the story of a family interned during WWII.

Upon entering, the first display combines newspaper clippings and photographs about the bombing of Pearl Harbor with historical and personal narratives. As you walk through the museum, you learn to look for side-bars labelled “Through my Eyes” that feature diary entries or retellings of camp life as well as placards that highlight the histories of various families who were interned at the camp. David Spurr in his book The Rhetoric of Empire suggests writers in the post-colonial era often attempt to idealize historically oppressed groups in order to compensate for their own continued guilt. He identifies a pattern where tragedy is trivialized in the face of “transcendent human spirit.” This is not so at the Heart Mountain Interpretive Center. The multi-narrative approach to storytelling resists any simple idealization of the former internees precisely because space is given to so many different voices, and none are the same. (Take a virtual tour of the museum here.)

eyes               family

And through these different voices, I learn that people in the camp continued living: they planted gardens and organized sporting events, they went to school and had jobs, they made life-long friendships, some fell in love and got married. But I also learn the interned Japanese and Japanese American people faced tremendous hardships: they were forcibly removed from their homes – their entire lives, they now lived in tiny barracks behind barb wire under the surveillance of armed guards, their basic human rights were fundamentally violated. These aspects are not downplayed in the museum. In that sense, the museum embodies the vow humanitarian writer Laura Flynn made after witnessing the violence of a military coup in Haiti: “repeat the story, don’t measure worth, set down the words that will not rest.” At the Interpretive Center, all stories matter – all stories are told.

In the TED Talk “The danger of a single story,” writer Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie says “Stories can break the dignity of a people, but stories can also repair that broken dignity.” Through the power of storytelling at the Heart Mountain Interpretive Center, operations manager Bethany Hamilton Sandvik said one of their goals is to be a place of healing for former internees. But for outsiders, what can the point be? To be the listeners and allies. I leave with a greater appreciation of the fragility of the “freedom” we cherish so much in the West as well as the importance of continued human rights advocacy supporting minority groups who are oppressed today.

Read my interview with anthropologist and Heart Mountain Interpretive Center board member Aura Newlin here.

5 thoughts on “A day at Heart Mountain Interpretive Center

  1. Pingback: Diverging views of Heart Mountain (Wk 4) | Veg Out West

  2. This sounds like a great center! Unfortunately, I haven’t learned much about the internment camps besides a bit in school, and then a few fictional novels. It’s great that there are centers like this to help remind us of what happened here on our own soil, not over in Europe or Asia. Sometimes it feels like some of the history of the war era was so removed from the US, but this helps remind us of our past as well.
    Did you know that Kuwata would be speaking when you decided to visit that day? What a fascinating experience to listen to her stories firsthand and be able to talk with her and ask your own questions. Thanks for sharing it with us.

  3. Heidi, the first thing about your blog post that caught my attention was the phrase, “a turn north on Road 19 leads back in time.” I already knew a little bit about the Japanese camps here in America, but I did not know that there was a location and place that one could visit such as Heart Mountain Interpretive Center.

    By introducing us to Eva Kuwata, you provided a glimpse into a place that is part of American history, but one that is also often forgotten (or not even taught).

    Bringing attention to the labels “Through My Eyes” shows that those who built the Interpretive Center had similar ideas as Adichie did on the importance of telling more than one story.

    I was reminded of the time that I lived in Hawaii and visiting the Pearl Harbor Memorial. The first time, I felt very confused at seeing so many Japanese tourists. WHY were THEY here, I would wonder. Then, I realized, it was their history too. We shared it together. I visited the Peal Harbor Memorial many, many times, but my eyes and heart were softened to the reality of a shared story.

    While many of us may never have the opportunity to go to the Heart Mountain Interpretive Center, your blog and links provide me (and my students) with an avenue with which to learn more. Thank you!

    Kelly

  4. I just have to post again! I decided to go back and look at the virtual tour and realized there was a section for “education.” There’s a book list for school aged kids!!!!!! I am certain I can find something for my 9th and 10th graders to read!!! Kelly

    • Thanks for your thoughts Kelly! I’m sure the Pearl Harbor Memorial would be very moving to see. If you look at the second post of an interview I did with my friend Aura (her great grandparents were interned in the camp), she talks more about the military history of Japanese Americans and how she believes some of those ideas, like your “WHY are THEY here?” can be countered when people learn the full history. A “shared story” is a great way to phrase it.

      If you’re interested in some other book recommendations, one of my favorite books to come out this period is Citizen 13660 by Mine Okubo: http://www.amazon.com/Citizen-13660-Min%C3%A9-Okubo/dp/0295959894. It’s a fairly easy read – I think I read it in one day – but a truly powerful read. Okubo was an artist interned at the camp in Topaz, UT and drew illustrations of what daily life was like. One thing she does really well is illustrate the rhetoric/propaganda the government relied on to get people to go along with this.

Leave a comment